I Challenge You To A Duel!! (Well, Not A Duel Exactly, But Challenge Accepted!)

April 27, 2012 § 3 Comments

A challenge has been issued. By You Know It Happens At Your House Too, and again by The Brady Bunch On Crack (I love you ladies!!!).  The challenge is to find 10 things you are grateful for, and share them (if you are so inclined).   With all the chaos and downturns in my life lately, I needed this challenge to remind me to look on the bright side of things and be thankful that my life is what it is, because Lord knows it could be so much worse. So here goes…

1.) I am grateful for my life. I am so thankful that I get to wake up every day (Even if it’s too early sometimes! Stinking internal alarm clock!!) and take a deep breath into my lungs. I am thankful that my blood continues to pump through my veins, and my heart continues to beat. I am thankful to just BE. ALIVE.

2.) I am grateful that I have been blessed with two amazing, beautiful, ridiculously smart, hilarious daughters. And I am thankful that they know that they are my LIFE and that I love them with every breath that I take. I tell them each a million times a day that I love them (so much that PT1 sometimes just says “I KNOW mom!!!)  and suffocate (not literally, folks) them with kisses and hugs every single chance I get. I am thankful that I get to know the indescribable joy of being their mother.

3.) I am grateful that we have a healthy family. Aside from the colds here or there, or an occasional migraine or toothache, we have no major illnesses or medical problems, and usually the only time the girlies have to see the doctor is for shots (EEK!) or check-ups. I am thankful that we stay healthy, especially having no medical insurance right now. That is a huge blessing.

4.) I am grateful that I can put food on the table for my children. I am thankful that my children never have to say “I’m Hungry” and actually mean it. (They’re kids, folks, they’re ALWAYS hungry. But they’re not starving!) No matter where the food comes from, I’m thankful that we have it, and that my children are able to eat. Sadly, not all children have that luxury.

5.) I am grateful that we have a roof over our heads. I am thankful for clean running water, indoor plumbing, and heat. These are things that a lot of people take for granted. It took a lot of work to get us here, but we have a HOME. A safe, healthy home that is large enough for my girlies to be able to run and chase each other and scream without disturbing the neighbors. A home that shields us from the elements and provides us with a security that some families don’t have.

6.) I am grateful that between T and I, we have an A-MA-ZING family. Even if most of them are far away, we know that they are always there for us in whatever way they can be, and are supportive of us, and that is a tremendous gift. All it would take is a phone call, and we could literally have an Army here if someone did us wrong, and THAT is awesome.

7.) I am grateful to have some of the most spectacular friends on the planet (old and new!). I have a lot of friends, and though not all of them are the ones I would call at 3am if I needed to cry, I know that they all care about me. Care about US. And the ones I WOULD call at 3am if I needed to cry? I would not give them up for anything, ever. They keep me strong when I am feeling weak. They make me laugh when I make that 3am call. They call me out when I’m acting crazy, or join me, whichever is more appropriate. I LOVE these ladies like my sisters. You know who you are. ❤

8.) I am grateful for Facebook. I know, it’s a ridiculous thing to be thankful for. But before Facebook, I had lost touch with so many friends from my past. Now, we can talk (type) on a daily basis, and they may be halfway across the country, but they’re still so close. I am thankful for the new friends I have made through the blog’s Facebook page. And for the Facebook blogging community. People that can give me insight and make me laugh, even though we’ve never met. It’s a pretty powerful thing!

9.) I am grateful that I was able to find a job. Even if I can’t start it yet, just getting a job in this economy is a huge accomplishment. And finding a job that I LOVE (Well, will love…) is even better…

10.) I am grateful for every. single. minute. of my past. All the trials and tribulations, successes and failures that I have been through. The people that I have lost who meant so much to me (I miss you Gram!!). The paths that I started down and never completed. The doors that I desperately wanted to open that didn’t. The mistakes I have made, and that others have made involving me. If my life had taken a different turn anywhere along the way, I would not be where I am today. I wouldn’t be with the people that love me the most. (I wouldn’t be crazy shaking to Team Umizoomi right now!!) And I wouldn’t change where I am right this moment for anything else you could offer me. Because for all the things that have gone wrong lately, I love where I have landed. I love my life. And I couldn’t have gotten here any other way.

So now it’s your turn. I challenge you to take some time, and come up with 10 things you are grateful for today. Share them here if you want, or just think about them and jot them down for yourself. It’s a chance to look at your life in a different way. Change your attitude. No one else can do it but you!

Sunshine...on my shoulder...makes me happy!

11.) I am grateful that the sun is shining today.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to I Challenge You To A Duel!! (Well, Not A Duel Exactly, But Challenge Accepted!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Challenge You To A Duel!! (Well, Not A Duel Exactly, But Challenge Accepted!) at Trailer Park, But Not Trash!.

meta

